Web-based Resources

In my final project for EDT 370, I plan to utilize Padlet – an “online wall” that is easy to use, and view, by both teachers and students. The lesson will be geared for 4th grade students. Students will work with a partner to research their assigned famous historical figure. Their Padlet will be the display of their biography, including websites, videos, and images to share their knowledge.

  • Teachers Pay Teachers
    • Title: Biography Research Reports (QR Codes & Scaffolding)
    • URL: https://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/Biography-Research-Reports-QR-Codes-Scaffolding-1117493
    • How I Found It: I’ve used TPT for a couple years now! I love looking at the resources people have created for ideas to use and incorporate in creating my own lessons. I went to the 4th grade Social Studies (Other) tabs to narrow my search results.
    • How I Might Use It: Though I probably won’t use this resource entirely, I really like the worksheet for students to fill out for their given person, and the websites they can utilize. These worksheet questions will be a good place for students to start their research to include in their Padlet presentation! I also like the list of biographical figures to use.
    • Standards:
      • GLCE 5 – U3.1.6 Identify the role that key individuals played in leading the colonists to revolution, including George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Benjamin Franklin, Patrick Henry, Samuel Adams, John Adams, and Thomas Paine.

 

  • PLN
    • Title: History Is Elementary blog
    • URL: http://historyiselementary.blogspot.com/
    • How I Found It: This site showed up while Googling “Social Studies blogs for teachers to follow”. Now, I don’t specifically remember which list it was on of the best blogs to follow, but I know I found it on one!
    • How I Might Use It: This site is nice for getting historical information. This would be a tool I would share with my students for them to use, keeping in mind that this is a blog and not necessarily all true.
    • Standards:
      • GLCE P2.3 Know how to find and organize information from a variety of sources, analyze, interpret, support interpretations with evidence, critically evaluate, and present the information orally and in writing; report investigation results effectively.

 

  • Google
    • Title: 10 Uses of Padlet in the History Classroom
    • URL: http://teachersworkplace.net/2013/07/23/10-uses-of-padlet-in-the-history-classroom
    • How I Found It: I typed “biography projects using Padlet” into the Google search bar and found this website as the first to come up. Previewing the webpage, there are a bunch of great ideas for how students can use Padlet to display their research.
    • How I Might Use It: This might be something I share with my students while introducing the project to give them more ideas; or I might utilize it before giving the project, creating a checklist of criteria that students must have and/or ways to discuss and reflect on presentations as a whole class at the end.
    • Standards
      • GLCE P2.3 Know how to find and organize information from a variety of sources, analyze, interpret, support interpretations with evidence, critically evaluate, and present the information orally and in writing; report investigation results effectively.

 

Leave a Reply

